Dear PS 38 Families,

Our safety committee has had extensive conversations about enhancing our safety procedures within our school community. As a result of these discussions and in order to continue with our vision of building student independence we are introducing a new arrival procedure.

Beginning on Monday, January 29, 2018, we ask that parents of grades K-5 escort their children to the Dean Street entrance and allow them to walk in independently. Pre-Kindergarten students will continue to arrive at 8:00 a.m. and walk directly to their classrooms escorted by their parents. Students in grades K-2 will meet their teachers in the school auditorium at 8:00 a.m. Support staff and other members of the community will be available to escort children as needed. Keep in mind that the doors to the school will open promptly at 8:00 a.m. We ask that parents adhere to this arrival time particularly during inclement weather, because the school doors will not open before 8:00 a.m. For safety purposes, parents will not be allowed to enter the school during arrival or dismissal.  All students in grades 3-5 will enter through the Dean Street doors at 8:00 a.m. and walk directly to their classrooms. Teachers will meet students at their classroom doors where breakfast will be served.

Students who arrive after 8:15 a.m. must continue to obtain a late pass. All parents who enter the school after this time must also sign-in with our School Safety Agent Gasby. Identification must be provided at this time. All of our exit doors are alarmed; therefore, parents must leave the building using the Dean Street Exit ONLY.

During arrival and dismissal procedures, teachers need their full attention on their students. We want to encourage parents to meet with their child’s teacher during Parent Engagement time on Tuesday afternoons from 2:30 p.m. to 3:05 p.m.

Thank you for your continued cooperation during arrival and dismissal procedures.


The P.S. 38 Safety Committee Members

 Susan Sleeper                          

Laura Chzaszcz                                   

Jacqueline Smith                     

Jean Raffaele

Monica Lonchiek

Agent Bridgette Gasby

Dr. Yolanda Ramirez

Atiyya Abdur-Rahman

Hassan Abdus Salaam

Jennifer Moore

Naida Fernandez